Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee is a Standing Committee as specified in the NCTR Constitution. The Constitution states that “the Legislative Committee exists to implement the policies of the Executive Committee in regard to federal or state legislative or agency decisions or proposals that impact NCTR or its members.”

The 2018 Legislative Committee will hold its first meeting of the year as follows:
The Westin, Washington, DC  (1400 M St NW, Washington, DC 20005) 
Saturday, February 25:  Arrivals; dinner hosted by NCTR.
Sunday, February 26:  Breakfast; Committee meeting (10:30 am); lunch; dinner hosted by NCTR/NASRA.
Monday, February 27: Committee is welcome to attend the joint NCTR/NASRA legislative session.

Duties and Responsibilities

With the concurrence of the President and the Executive Committee, the Legislative Committee shall engage in activities that include the development and implementation of strategies to promote or oppose legislative or executive branch decisions or proposals.

The Legislative Committee shall also monitor all federal legislation or executive agency initiatives that significantly affect public retirement systems and, as appropriate, shall make recommendations for action to the President and Executive Committee regarding these initiatives.

The Legislative Committee shall be responsible for implementing all actions assigned to it under the NCTR Strategic Plan.

The Committee shall coordinate all activities with NCTR’s Washington, D.C., Federal Relations Director.

The Chairperson will be responsible for providing reports at various NCTR meetings throughout the year. This may include, but is not limited to legislative committee meetings in Washington, D.C., the Executive Committee meeting in March/April, the annual summer Trustee Workshop and Directors’ Meeting, and the Annual Convention of NCTR.

Legislative Committee 2017

Donna Mueller, Co-Chair, Administrator, Iowa PERS

Carole Wright, Co-Chair, Trustee, Colorado PERA

Peggy Boykin, Administrator, South Carolina PEBA

Cecelia Carter, Administrator, Omaha SERS

Mary Collins, Trustee, DC Retirement Board

Dana Dillon, Trustee, CalSTRS

Frank Karpinski, Administrator, Rhode Island ERS

David Keefe, Trustee, New York STRS

Dean Kenderdine, Administrator, Maryland SRPS

Robert Lyons, Trustee, Illinois TRS

Tim Myers, Trustee STRS Ohio

Sean Neilon, Administrator, Massachusetts TRB

Pat Robertson, Administrator, Mississippi PERS

Jill Schurtz, Administrator, St. Paul TRFA

Bill Sloan, Trustee, Georgia TRS

Marshall Thompson, Trustee, Minnesota TRA

Bakari Ukuu, Trustee, Kansas City PSRS

Melva Vogler, Trustee, Pennsylvania PSERS

Rob Wylie, Administrator, South Dakota RS

Roger Rea, NCTR Executive Committee Liaison

Note: Pursuant to the NCTR Constitution, the President and President-Elect shall be ex-officio members of all committees.